Tie Dye Nail Art

These are definitely my favorite so far from the challenge! I hadn’t done tie dye nail art before now, so this took me some practice. This design is actually my second try, because my first, blue and white swirls, didn’t look like tie dye at all. I took some photos and might post it eventually, but it’s not very good.

Because I didn’t know how to do tie dye nails, I looked up some tutorials. I ended up following this one by Nailistas. Although the nail art itself looks complicated, it’s actually easy to do. Basically, you start with a white base, then apply top coat. Once dried, you apply 3-4 thin layers of different colors, letting them dry in between. Then you take a Q-tip soaked in nail polish remover and lightly rub over the nail so the colors will show through. I applied a matte top coat like in the tutorial, because I really loved how it looked.

Apart from the white, I used three nail polishes: CND Vinylux Be Demure, a light pink, Salon Perfect Purple POP!, and OPI AmazON…AmazOFF, a dark teal. I’m so happy with how these nails turned out and the color combination I used. I want to try more tie dye nails in the future!

Leave a Reply

