Pool Party Nail Art

I was really excited when I saw the pool party prompt on the challenge since I hadn’t done anything like it before. It was also a great opportunity for me to practice painting water. At first I was just drawing long, curved white lines for the reflections, but that wasn’t looking right. So, I googled some photos of water and noticed the reflections were made up of smaller sections. I made the white lines shorter and connected them. I also did several layers for a more translucent water effect. The blue I used, Salon Perfect Mer-Made of Money, is not particularly sheer, but with a light coat it left the lines partly visible.

For the lemonade and the floats I used a white nail art liner and the accent colors listed below:

Salon Perfect Traffic Cone
Salon Perfect Let’s Not Coral
Salon Perfect Flamingo Flair
Salon Perfect Yowza Yellow

I’m really happy with how the water looks and the nail art in general. I want to keep practicing the reflections, but this one’s definitely one of my favorite designs so far for this challenge.

Leave a Reply

