Metallic Gold Kwanzaa Nail Art

kwanzaanails

A simple but elegant design for Kwanzaa representing the kinara. I actually made this more complicated than it needed to be since I wasn’t completely sure what I was doing when I started. So instead of applying the gold first then adding the candles on top, I actually applied the colors first, waited until they had dried, applied double pieces of striping tape and then added the gold last. Unnecessarily complicated, I know! But I love the end result regardless.

For the candles, I used Sparitual Radiant, a shimmery red, and Sinful Colors Secret Admirer, a black with silver shimmer. I used two different polishes for the green. I began with Sinful Colors San Francisco, a metallic green, but that was too sheer even after several coats. So I applied Ciaté La Dolce Vita, a darker green on top. But that was too dark for what I wanted, so then I added another layer of San Francisco over it to brighten the green. Finally, after securing the striping tape, I applied a thick layer of Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Go For Gold. Next time I do a similar design, I’ll think it through before I start so I don’t wind up with a ton of layers!

Leave a Reply

