31DC2016 Green – Overlapping Rectangles

31dc2016green

These nails are inspired by this design from esNAIL. My original design for today’s theme was based around polka dots, but once I finished it, I didn’t like it at all. Looking for inspiration, I saw those esNAIL nails and really wanted to try the design. Getting the sheer white rectangle was trickier than I thought it would be. I don’t have a sheer white polish, so I mixed white and clear. It took me several tries since I didn’t want the white to be too opaque, but it still had to make a difference when painted over the other colors.  I didn’t use a sheer base for this design, but would definitely use one if  I did it again. Without it, it was easier to correct the color blocks, but a sheer base would have made the places where my natural nail shows more even looking.

Sephora by OPI Natural Environ-mint
Color Club Edie

31dc2016green2

Leave a Reply

