Purple and Gray Striped Nails

purplestripesnails2

Some time ago I did a striped design using different finishes for each color and I really liked it, so I decided to do something similar.This was a fairly quick nail art to do since I freehanded it instead of using tape. That caused me a few mistakes here and there, but I was able to correct the majority of them.

purplestripenails

I began with one coat of Fresh Paint Firefly, a light gray. I really like this color and also used it in my original design. Instead of just painting the individual stripes, I covered the whole nail to make things easier. I then used Pure Ice Moonlight, a dark blue-gray polish with pink shimmer to add the second set of stripes. The pink shimmer isn’t that noticeable, but I’m really loving this polish. For the final stripe color I used Sinful Colors Fig, a red-purple shade.

After wearing this nail art for a couple of days, I’m not sure I like the color scheme. In person the dark gray and purple blend into each other too much, which isn’t the look I was going for. I’m still pretty happy with it though.

Leave a Reply

