31DC2015 Inspired by Art – Stained Glass

31dc2015art2

This stained glass panel is called “Turkish Delight” by Robert Sowers (you can see more info on it here). I love this panel because the colors are eye-catching and the basic geometric shapes work so well together to form a complex design. I began with a gradient of blue, white, and red using Sally Girl Epic, Pure Ice Super Star, and Ciaté Mistress, respectively. Since the red was looking too bright on its own, I added an unnamed maroon polish by Cosmetic Arts at the top to darken it slightly. I then drew the dividing lines using Salon Perfect Nail Art Black Diamond. I really wanted to use my regular black liner, but I couldn’t find it, so I had to use my shimmery one instead.

31dc2015art

I used Sinful Colors Clementine and Hurricane Nail Art Yellow for the dots on the sides. This part was tricky because I wasn’t sure how to transfer it to the nail. I thought about making lines between the yellow circles like in the original glass panel, but I felt it would clutter up the design too much, especially since the black lines were already thick. Lastly, I used Revlon Parfumerie China Flower, another bright red, to fill in the remaining middle and side panels.

Leave a Reply

