31DC2015 Inspired by Fashion – Carolina Herrera Fall 2015

 

31dc2015fashion3

This is my third time choosing a Carolina Herrera design for the fashion prompt. I’m always blown away by her designs and this collection is no exception. The Fall 2015 Ready-to-Wear features a lot of blue and gray fabrics with patterns resembling smoke and water that are perfect for nail art inspiration. I instantly knew I would use the water spotting technique as soon as I saw the collection. I only used three colors, and only two of those in the water. It was pretty easy to do, but I guess my head was in the clouds or something, because I forgot to tape around my fingers :/ I had a huge mess on my hands when I finished and it was such a pain to clean!

31dc2015fashion2

I began by first painting my nails with one coat of Sparitual Blue Lagoon. It could have been more opaque but I didn’t bother adding a second coat since I would be water spotting on top of it. I didn’t have any spray hand sanitizer so I used hairspray instead. It was a bit difficult to work with, but I only needed 2-3 sprays to get a good amount of spaces. I first used Wet ‘n’ Wild Black Creme trying to keep it as minimal as possible so as not to overpower the blue. The last layer is Fresh Paint Firefly, a light gray. This worked much better in the water and with the spray, and it made the design look ten times better. This is definitely another of my favorite designs I’ve done for this year’s challenge and can’t wait to do it again when I can actually wear it for more than a day!

Leave a Reply

