31DC2015 Inspired by a Book – Howl’s Moving Castle

31dc2015book

Howl’s Moving Castle is both one of my favorite movies and books. I own the movie (directed by Hayao Miyazaki) and have seen it many times. But only this year did I have the opportunity to read the book written by Diana Wynne Jones that the movie is inspired by. I love both versions and considered doing this design for the movie prompt, but since Howl’s castle looks different depending on the version, I thought the one I drew matched the book’s description better. I also took some inspiration from the book’s cover for the background, and I’m really happy with how it turned out. The swirls on top of the grass and sky give it a whimsical feel. My castle’s a bit messy, but I think the idea gets across :)

Sparitual Dreamsicle
Revlon Dreamer
Fresh Paint Steampunk
Sinful Colors Broadway Star
Color Club Edie
Sinful Colors High Strung

Leave a Reply

