Neiru Workshop “Redefine Fine Lines” 2

The second section of the Neiru Workshop required creating designs with organic, vine-like lines. I really like this style of nail art and often do flowers, so it didn’t seem as difficult as the first one.

whimsyvinelines_step3

Still, my lines didn’t come out as thin as I wanted them to look, but I’m happy with the result. I only used three colors for this one so I was able to do it pretty fast. I started with Finger Paints Scenery Greenery, then drew the heart parts with Sinful Colors Bamboo, the lighter bluish green. I was originally going to use a burgundy color, but it wasn’t showing up well against the deeper green. For the outlines I used my favorite metallic gold, Maybelline Bold Gold.

whimsyvinelines_step2

Creating the three individual designs was really challenging for me. For some reason I had the hardest time coming up with ideas. I wanted them to be slightly similar to the original design we had to recreate (pictured below), but still have something unique. I went for different styles of gradient backgrounds on each nail, my favorites being the green and purple.

whimsyvinelines_step1I love the whimsical nature of the original nail design and tried to stay true to the theme while working on my own nails. This type of look is very delicate and reminiscent of Spring. I think these designs would look nice as accent nails too.

Next week, I’ll be posting the last part of the workshop! To see the first one, click here.

Leave a Reply

