2 Sticker Manis: Cats, Chevrons, & Gingerbread Men

Normally I’m not a fan of stickers or decals because I find they don’t stick well, and end up peeling off the nail. But lately I’ve been seeing so many cute designs that I bought a few and decided to give them a try.

stickernails

For the above design, I used Scratch & Sniff Nail Wraps (Watermelon) that I bought from my local pharmacy. These come with 12 nail wraps of varying sizes and designs. I was able to do both my hands, but had to adjust some of the wraps with scissors. They were easy to apply, though as you can see, they’re not perfect. In pressing them down I got some tears I tried to fix with nail polish. When I first applied them I noticed a light floral scent (not really like watermelon, but still nice), but that went away once I top coated them. The instructions don’t say to top coat, but I like to anyway to avoid chipping and wrinkling. For the $2 I paid for these I’d say they’re pretty good!

catstickernails

I did these about two weeks ago, but couldn’t upload them sooner because I had misplaced my camera cable. Sorry for the bad lighting, but I didn’t take any more because I removed them right away! I bought the cat stickers at Five Below (they’re just called Crazy Cats Nail Stickers – I’m pretty sure they’re from the same brand as the nail wraps above) and I love them. But they just weren’t properly sticking to my nails. I used Sparitual Magnify as a base color, and waited until it was nearly dry before applying them. At first they would stick, but then in a few seconds the edges would pull up. I really hate how that looks especially since they catch on everything. It was kind of a bummer since they’re super cute. I still have a lot left (comes with 1 sheet), so maybe I’ll try again at some point. Here’s a link for them, though mine have slightly different packaging.

EDIT – I just noticed on their website that they advise sticking them over wet polish, but the instructions that came with the one I bought say to apply over dry polish, and then to top coat. I’ll have to try them on wet polish to see if they stick better.

Have any of you used stickers like these before? How did you get them to stick to the nails properly?

3 thoughts on “2 Sticker Manis: Cats, Chevrons, & Gingerbread Men

Leave a Reply

