31DC2014 Inspired by a Tutorial: Simple Chevrons

31dc2014tutorial

I love how these nails turned out, though my right hand is a lot messier looking. I had a difficult time in general making the pointed tips for these, and I couldn’t figure out why. Just now I’ve realized that I did the design upside-down! I did these late last night, so who knows where my mind was. I followed this tutorial by NailObsessionn on YouTube for the technique to make the chevron shapes using only the polish brush, and no tools.

31dc2014tutorial2

I love the color combination, and actually picked the colors out before choosing a tutorial because I wanted to use them together. Ciaté Hidden Gem is the mustard I used as the base color. I’ve been on the search for a good mustard polish for a long time, and while this one isn’t 100% the shade I imagined, it’s pretty close. It requires two coats. The middle greenish-brown is Sephora by OPI Happy Earth Day To Me. This one was a bit streaky, so it also needed two coats. The shimmering dark teal is Sephora by OPI Teal We Meet Again, one of my favorite teals. This polish applied super smoothly and only needed one coat. I also don’t have any top coat on these because I couldn’t find it at the time.

 

Leave a Reply

