31DC2014 Nails U Love: New Year’s Nails

31dc2014nailsulove

Happy New Year’s everyone!

I kind of rushed this design a bit so I could get it done before midnight or else I’d have to tag it 31DC2015! I’m happy with how the nails turned out though. They’re a bit simpler than the design they’re based on (this one by esNAIL), and I changed a couple of things. The stars in the original have sequins and some caviar beads, but I did without them on my own nails. I also switched up the sequins on the index nail for rhinestones, since I don’t have the ones they used in the design. In the photo it looks like I’m missing some rhinestones on the right, but it’s just the light making them clear. I’m not sure if they used foil on the original nail art to get the mirrored effect, but I thought some silver, holographic foil would be a nice choice. Unfortunately it crinkled with the top coat.

Under the rhinestones and foil I used a metallic silver from Cosmetic Arts (it’s unnamed). The red accent nail is Milani Paint the Town Red, the white is Ciaté Snow Virgin, and the black is Salon Perfect Nail Art Black Ink.

See you in 2015!!

Leave a Reply

