Favorite Christmas & Holiday Nail Polishes

I was hoping to get this out sooner, but swatching took me longer than I had anticipated. Anyway, I finally managed to get it done, so here are my favorite nail polishes for Christmas and the holiday season – in no particular order. I used several of these for my recent Christmas nail art!

Funky Fingers – Elsa, Anna, Olaf
The second I saw these nail polishes I knew I had to buy them – partly because they’re inspired by Frozen characters, but mostly because they’re perfect winter glitters. (Sorry for my stained nails, by the way!)

ffolaf

Olaf, my favorite out of the three, has white round and mini glitter with white snowflakes. The snowflakes were a bit difficult to get out of the bottle, but look really cute. I applied two heavy coats for this photo. You get more glitter by dabbing the brush on the nail instead of sliding it.

ffanna

Anna is the more colorful of the three, with magenta round glitter, and both white and blue snowflake glitter. I think this one would look great over a dark pink or a green.

ffelsa

Elsa reminds me of melting chunks of ice. It has slightly bigger light blue sequins with smaller white glitter, and white snowflakes. It’s my second favorite out of three, and I think it looks super pretty on bare nails.

cipartyshoes

Ciaté – Party Shoes
This is a newer polish for me, and one I haven’t had as much chance to use, but the moment I saw the gold and green glitter I instantly thought of Christmas.

cg5goldenrings

China Glaze – 5 Golden Rings
I’ve had this nail polish for a long time, and I find I’m always using it around the holiday season. It’s yellow-gold glitter in a yellowish base. I used about three coats for the swatch, but you could get away with just two. I like to use it as both a topper as well as on its own.

cgeyeslikesapphires

China Glaze – Eyes Like Sapphires
The only blue polish of the bunch, but one I use a lot. It’s a dark blue with silver shimmer, and it makes me think of a winter’s night. This one needs two coats to be opaque, and definitely a top coat for some shine. You can see the silver shimmer in the bottle more than on my nails.

scsanfrancisco

Sinful Colors – San Francisco
I had picked out a couple of greens for this, but ended up with just this one on the list. It’s more on the yellow side of green, and has a frosted finish. I’d say this one needs at least two coats, maybe even three, since it’s not that opaque.

scsilverbelle

Sinful Colors – Silver Belle
Like China Glaze 5 Golden Rings, this is another Christmas-themed polish. It’s a sheer white frosted base with silver round glitter. I love it because you can get it like the bottle in about three coats, which is not the case for many other glitters. I only used two for the photo above.

fpframedinred

Finger Paints – Framed in Red
This has got to be my main Christmas red! This is another oldie of mine, but one I love using throughout the year. It’s a blue-toned red with shimmer, and needs one to two coats for full opacity.

ffgoldengrace

Finger Paints – Key To My Art
On my index and middle nails, this metallic polish is in between gold and silver. It’s pretty opaque, but I like applying two coats just in case. I love using it with black for a strong contrast.

Funky Fingers – Golden Grace
On my other two nails is Golden Grace, a similar shade, but with a different texture. Unlike Key To My Art, this one also has round gold glitter.

spalookingglass

Sparitual – Looking Glass
I use more gold than silver during the holidays, but I had to include this one. What I really like about this metallic silver is the shimmer – it makes the nails glitter, especially in the light. Another great silver that’s similar to this one is ELF Liquid Metal, which you can see here.

This is a long post already, but I have to include some Honorable Mentions!

shgoforgold
Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Go For Gold
is a beautiful metallic polish that has more warmth and a richer feel than some of the other golds I mentioned.

Kleancolor Bite Me is a medium red with red and gold shimmer. It also looks great with a matte topcoat. I have a photo of it in my Kleancolor Haul & Swatches post, here.

Finally, I have to mention two red glitters: ELF Love Me and Sephora by OPI Be-Clause I Said So, which are great toppers, especially over metallic silver and gold polishes.

elf - loveme

Leave a Reply

