Swatches and Review: Ciaté Caviar Mini Bar Vol. 2

ciatecaviarbar3

Although I’m not a huge fan of caviar nail art, I found the Ciaté Caviar Mini Bar Volume 2 kit on sale, and decided to give it a try. As you can see from the photo above, the kit comes with four mini polishes: Snow Virgin (white), Fun Fair (pink), Ferris Wheel (blue), and Mistress (red); and four mini bottles of caviar mixes: Front Row, Fatal Attraction, Stick or Twist, and Wild Fire. The kit also comes with a funnel so after application you can put the extra beads back into the bottles. As a side note, I would suggest doing this over a piece of paper or something with less static. The instructions suggest doing it over the plastic, but I found that the beads stuck to the plastic too much, and it was difficult to get them into the funnel.

ciatecaviarbar

These are the colors before I sprinkled the beads over them. I applied two coats for this photo, and as you can see, the pink and blue are still a bit streaky. With only one coat, the red, while not as streaky, is sheer. Although all the colors are pretty standard, I really like the vibrancy of the red and white – I think that’s the brightest white polish I have, which is nice.

ciatecaviarbar2

I applied the caviar bead combinations over the complementary polishes. What I like about these is that they don’t just have different color beads, but also glitter and sequins. Front Row, the one on my index finger, has black and silver beads, as well as clear iridescent sequins. But, while I think it looks great in the bottle, I’m not sure if I like it on my nails. Some of the sequins were sticking out and that was a bit uncomfortable.

Wild Fire, on my middle finger, is my favorite of the four. I felt that it went the most smoothly on and evenly covered my nail. It’s only made up of caviar beads, red and clear. Although the texture is somewhat different from other caviar beads I’ve tried, more jelly-like, if that makes sense.

On my ring finger I have Stick or Twist, a combination of teal and clear beads with the same clear sequins that are in Front Row. I like the colors better, but again, maybe it’s the sequins, but I wasn’t as big a fan of this one. I feel like I have too many “bald spots” on my nails where the sequins are.

The last one on my pinky nail is Fatal Attraction. It’s made up of light and dark pink beads and pink glitter. This is my second favorite; it covered my nail really well. I love the glitter in this one because it fills in any of the random spots between the beads.

I like this kit, though I’m not sure if I would get a lot of use out of the polishes (except Snow Virgin) unless it’s to pair them up with the bead mixes. The caviar mixes are unique, though I’m not totally sold on the sequins. So, if you can find the individual mixes full size and want to try them, I would suggest Wild Fire and Fatal Attraction.

One thought on “Swatches and Review: Ciaté Caviar Mini Bar Vol. 2

Leave a Reply

