31DC2014 Inspired by a Book: 2001 A Space Odyssey

 

31dc2014book

The most recent book I’ve read is Arthur C. Clarke’s 2001: A Space Odyssey, so I thought it would be fun to do some nail art inspired by it. I think this one, like the Winnie the Pooh design I did yesterday, could go in either the movie or book category. I like both the book and movie versions of 2001 and was tempted to try to recreate some scenes, but decided to go a more abstract route. The colorful backgrounds on the thumb, index, and middle fingers make me think of when Bowman travels through the Star Gate (especially in the movie version), and I love those in contrast to the Star Child and (matte) monolith nails. By the way, the words are “TMA-1,” “HAL 9000,” “Discovery,” and “Japetus.”

I thought I was going to have a harder time writing the words (I used a striping polish) but I had a surprisingly good amount of control with the brush – the Neiru Workshop definitely helped.

Kleancolor Neon Yellow
Sinful Colors Hot & Sour
Sally Girl Epic
L.A. Colors Circuits
Wet ‘n’ Wild French White Creme
Sinful Colors Nail Art Be My Valentine, Simple But Fun, Me First, Anxious Azure
L.A. Colors Art Deco Flamingo
Salon Perfect Nail Art Black Ink

Leave a Reply

