31DC2014 Inspired by a Song: Coldplay’s “Swallowed In The Sea”

31dc2014song

I love Coldplay and I’ve been listening to their latest album a lot, so I knew I wanted to do one of their songs for the 31 Day Challenge. I decided to go with “Swallowed In The Sea” from X&Y because it’s one of my favorites, plus I instantly knew what I wanted to do for a design when I was listening to it.

31dc2014song2

I’m really happy with how the newspaper text turned out on these. I tore the pieces of newspaper I wanted to use, then laid them out on the nail. With an alcohol (50%) soaked cotton ball, I pressed down on the newspaper for about 20-30 seconds. I was a bit worried the text would smudge when I top coated, but thankfully that didn’t happen. There were a lot of polishes I used for this design, and I mixed a few of them to get the exact colors I wanted.

Sinful Colors Nirvana, Clementine, Cabana, Lavender, Espionage
Sparitual Full of Life
Essie Case Study
Sephora by OPI Leotard-Optional, IM Beauty
ICING Gargoyle
Revlon Dreamer
Salon Perfect Nail Art Black Ink
Fresh Paint Firefly
Ciaté Hidden Gem, Cream Soda
Milani Creme Brulee
Wet ‘n’ Wild French White Creme

Sometimes I like to do drafts of nail art designs, especially if I think of them in advance, so I thought I’d include the one I did for this nail art. While I had to adjust some aspects of the design, I think it still looks pretty similar.

31dc2014song_sketch

Leave a Reply

