31DC2014 Half Moon: Glow in the Dark Moons

31dc2014halfmoon2

From the beginning I’d planned to use a glow in the dark polish for Half Moon day, because I wanted to make it look like moons in the night sky. So, I was a bit disappointed when I tried Sinful Colors Glow in the Dark for my Halloween Nails, because I couldn’t see any glow. I read up on it, and found out I had to “charge” them by holding my nails up to a light source. As soon as I did that, I could definitely see a green glow. I’ll also mention that I didn’t apply any base color to that section, and used 2-3 coats of the glow in the dark polish.

31dc2014halfmoon

For the rest of the nails I used China Glaze Eyes Like Sapphires, a rich blue with silver shimmer. To make the half moons, I used hole reinforcements, applied the layers of glow in the dark polish, then peeled off the stickers before the polish was entirely dry. I then used the China Glaze polish, which is more opaque, to color in the rest of the nail and correct the half moon shapes. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get a good photo of the nails in the dark, but they looked really cool.

Leave a Reply

