Violet Flowers Nail Art Water Decals

DecalNailArt

I love these! I wanted to try water decals for a long time, and a couple of weeks ago I finally ordered three different floral designs off of ebay. This is the seller for anyone who’s interested – I received them fairly quickly, by the way.

Application was a bit tricky at first. For the base color, I used Ciaté Poppet, a matte pastel purple that comes in their Doll House collection (it’s showing up a bit too bluish in the photo). The accent nail is Orly Pixie Powder over 2 coats of Milani 3D Hi-Res.

The decals come in a tiny envelope, and consist of one sheet for all 10 nails. If buying more than one from the seller, I would recommend  ordering them together to save on shipping. To get the decal on my nails, I used a cup of warm water and a pair of tweezers (I also watched several YouTube videos to get ready). I cut the decal to the size of my nail, then peeled off the plastic that’s attached. Using the tweezers, I dipped the decal under water for about 15-25 seconds. After pulling it out, I used the tweezers to separate the transparent decal from the backing paper, and placed it on my nail. Finally, I top coated, and cleaned up the extra around my cuticle with acetone.

Some things I learned while doing this:

  • Cold water won’t work (at least it didn’t for me). It has to be warm.
  • The decals come in between 2 sheets. The top one is the transparent plastic that you need to take off before placing it in the water. I forgot to do this on my second nail, and couldn’t get it to work after it had been in the water. There is also a white backing paper that you need to separate the decal from after it has been in the water.
  • I had some trouble getting one of the decals to stick onto my nail, so I pressed it down as best as I could, then top coated it quickly. The top coat helped to melt it onto the nail.

Once you practice applying these a few times, it becomes pretty quick and easy to do. I think these are great for when you don’t have time to make an elaborate design, or just don’t feel like it.

One thought on “Violet Flowers Nail Art Water Decals

Leave a Reply

