My First Time Applying Acrylics Using Nailene Sculpture Kit

purpleacrylicnails

My friend’s finished nails.

Hi, everyone! A couple of weeks ago my friend brought me the Nailene Acrylic Sculpture Kit so that I could do her nails. I was a little hesitant, since I had never applied acrylics before (though I’d watched plenty of YouTube videos on the subject). I asked her to give me some time to practice, and a few days ago we finally went through with it. It was a very long 3-hour (crazy!) process, from choosing which tips fit her nails, to applying the acrylic, to painting the final design, which I’m super happy with. Unfortunately, her nails didn’t last more than a few days, which bummed me out more than it did her, but I think I know the reason why.

When my friend gave me the kit, the Nailene glue was missing, and she had me use a dollar store nail glue instead. Now, I think this, along with the fact that she does a lot of washing, contributed to her nails not staying as long as they could have. I might have done something wrong, but I followed the instructions exactly, and watched some videos beforehand, so I’m not sure.

Anyway, my friend has pretty wide nails, so when we were selecting the nail tips, we used a mix of French and natural, since they were going to be painted over anyway. The French tips are more flexible and easier to work with than the natural (which also extend further into the nail). I then cleaned the nails with acetone and lightly buffed them before applying the glue and pressing them on. After making sure they were secure, I cut and shaped them since she wanted them to be rounder.

Am I doing this right?

Am I doing this right??

Applying the acrylic was tricky, and I found myself cleaning up the cuticle area often with an orange stick. Following the instructions, I soaked the provided brush into the liquid, then dipped it into the acrylic powder until I had a small bead. I smoothed this over the nail, applying three thin layers on each nail in total. The last picture from the three above is after I had applied all of the layers, and before filing the edges one more time.

Then, I applied 2 coats of Sinful Colors Fig (finally getting into familiar territory!). For the flowers, I used Hurricane Nail Art Yellow, Art Club Nail Art Fine Gold, and Phantom Frights Nail Art White and Black. The last step was to top coat!

Finished thumbs!

I loved how the design turned out, but I was nervous about whether or not I had done the acrylics correctly. I freaked out thinking they would all fall off in a day – which wasn’t that far from what happened…

Overall, the Nailene kit was easy to use, but definitely time consuming. The result might have been different if we’d used the glue that came with the kit, but I think it will be a while before I try again. As for my own nails, I think I’ll stay away from acrylic, since I’m pretty happy with their current state.

Have any of you used this kit before? If so, how long did the nails last? If you have any suggestions, please share!

Leave a Reply

