31 Day Challenge 2013: Yellow

yellownails

I had several techniques in mind in order to achieve this look. Stickers were my first choice, but I couldn’t find any that I liked. Then, I tried the newspaper nails technique, except I didn’t have any newspaper or alcohol handy. I printed the word HAZARD on regular printing paper then tried a couple different perfumes and even hydrogen peroxide, but none worked. So, finally I drew the letters in with sharpie, and went over them with a black striper. Then, I fixed the edges with a yellow striper. The base color I used is Sinful Colors Neon Melon, a lime-yellow neon. I applied 2 coats over 2 coats of white, since otherwise it is too streaky and sheer. I really do love this neon though, it looks so bright and happy in person. The word HAZARD came out a little funky since I didn’t space out the letters well and didn’t have enough room for a proper R or D. But I think it still looks pretty good.

Leave a Reply

