White Flowers on Matte Blue

flower2

Before I thought of doing this design, I was in a rush and grabbed the first color I saw, which was Sinful Colors’ Savage. I really love this blue, and I think I prefer it when it’s matte (although without a topcoat, the finish is semi-matte already). Then I got the idea to add the flowers as if they were on water. I was a bit hesitant at first, because I don’t think my flowers turn out so well, but practice makes perfect!

I’m not sure if it’s clear in the photos, but I tried my best to capture them so the difference between the shiny topcoat flowers and matte background was visible. You might also be able to notice that the blue isn’t smooth. I did that on purpose to try to make it look more like water, and I love that it feels so texture-y. For the matte topcoat I used NYC’s Matte Me Crazy, which does a really good job. A few days ago I was at Rite Aid and saw that Sinful Colors came out with a matte topcoat (I’m not sure if they had it before or if it’s recent). I’m excited to try that to compare the two. Has anyone used it yet?

Sinful Colors Savage, Unicorn (light yellow), Star Fish (pink), Innocent (light green)
Sally Hansen White On

Leave a Reply

